Research Awards: Graduate School of Dental Medicine

Research Awards | March 16, 2015

The American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) 99th Annual meeting / 2013 Research Forum Poster Sessions Basic Research, Research Forum Basic Science Award
Recipient: Emiko Saito, Assistant  Professor, Graduate School of Dental Medicine
Date & Venue:  9.29.2013
Research Theme / Background:

Periodontal healing following various implantation methods of BMP-2, bFGF-2 and EMD in circumferential defects
Emiko Saito, Akira Saito, Shigeru Takahashi, Fumihiko Yuge, Toshinori Nakajima, Hiroki Uekita, Yoshiyuki Honma, Tomomi Takahashi, Hiroshi Kato and Masamitsu Kawanami

The American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) is the oldest and most distinguished academic association in the area of periodontology, and among all academic associations in the field, it is considered by many to be the most authoritative in the world. The AAP has recognized this research in periodontal tissue regeneration, which was accomplished by combining two types each of the growth factors BMP-2, FGF-2 and EMD and applying the double layer constitution method, a new grafting method we developed. The results strongly suggested the necessity of securing space for regeneration of the respective periodontal tissues and further of controlling the growth factors used in accordance with the healing period, in order to achieve periodontal tissue regeneration.

This research was selected by the screening committee as one of eight finalists in the Basic Research division from among all the presentations submitted to the Research Forum Poster Sessions. It earned 1st place in the AAP’s competition, for which Assistant Prof. Saito was awarded the Research Forum Basic Science Award. The research was very well received by many periodontists and researchers from other countries, and she is very grateful for the honor.
Assistant Prof. Saito expresses her sincere appreciation to Hokkaido University Professor Emeritus Hiroshi Kato, Professor Masamitsu Kawanami, Associate Professor Shigeru Takahashi, and Assistant Professor Akira Saito for their invaluable instruction and guidance, and to Dr. Fumihiko Yuge; graduate students Toshinori Nakajima and Hiroki Uekita, and Yoshiyuki Honma ,and Tonomi Takahashi of the Support Section for Education and Research for their assistance in carrying out this research.

 *English translations to Japanese titles provided for readability and are not official